Girl on Fire

Frank Ski's, Angelica Tucker

Last summer I was blown away by a local band I’d seen perform at Loca Luna. The name of the band is Josh Bias and the 360 band. I was so impressed by their musical style, the performance and their energy.

Since then I’ve seen this group perform all over the city. If I wasn’t familiar with them then, I am now and I’m sure most anyone who enjoys live music is as well. Josh Bias and the 360 band perform all over Atlanta and I was pleased to hear them again last week at Frank Skis Restaurant.

I arrived at Frank Skis at 9:30 for a friend’s birthday dinner. The upscale lounge/restaurant was alive with music, people and good vibes. Inside was a mature crowd; career professionals enjoying a glass of wine, cocktails and private dinners. I was headed for the patio when I noticed the stage and of course the band.

Band member Angelica Tucker was giving a great performance. She’s the only woman the group and holds her position perfectly. She’s a petite woman with a powerful voice and moves that rival some well known performers. I realized that I’d been enjoying the ambiance of the place for awhile before even making it outside to join my friends.

The restaurant proved to be a great Thursday night option. Between sets the DJ kept the vibe going and by 11 the place had filled up. There’s no cover and valet is available. Make reservations for tables if eating.

Nakato

If you’re looking for a nice place to celebrate your next birthday , then Nakato Japanese restaurant is a great choice. I’ve been a couple of times, recently went for my friend Faith’s birthday, and as always had a great time.

Nakato is located on Piedmont road which is connected to the city’s Midtown area. Since it’s pretty centrally located, there won’t be much of a problem gathering family and friends for your special occasion.

Faith decided to do Hibachi which to me was a great choice. I love sitting around the Hibachi grill and watching the chef prepare everyone’s meal before their eyes. It’s a very interactive experience. I also love the warm feeling you have seeing the facial expressions when the first initial flame goes up before your eyes. It’s an something I’ve come to enjoy even though, I’m never quite prepared. See my expression.

Nakato-Fire

Nakato provides a very elegant and very inviting atmosphere for dining. You have the choice of being seated in the public dining area or inside the private dining rooms which are typically set aside for special occasions. We went with private dining room.

The food was delicious. I ordered the steak and shrimp combination and everything was served to perfection. Our chef was very accommodating and the waiters very attentive and courteous to our needs. It was great experience which is probably why I enjoy visiting.

Overall, it was great way to spend a rainy Sunday afternoon and Faith enjoyed her special day. Happy Birthday Faith! Hugs!

Faith Birthday

Leave a Reply

