What’s the “Scenario?”

Scenario.Bar

I don’t normally hang out on a Sunday night but for Super Bowl Sunday, I made an exception.

After enjoying great company with some lady friends at a house party during the game, we decided we’d head out for a little dancing afterwards. Blame it on Beyoncé and the reunion of Destiny’s Child during the halftime performance for our ambitious desires to bring out our best moves.

Someone suggested that we try a new spot. My girlfriend gave me a quick profile of the place and since we were already buzzing with excitement, I decided to go.

Away from the city tucked in a shopping Plaza off Roswell road, exists a discreet lounge and bar called Scenario.

Pulling into parking lot I had my doubts. There was Publix grocer right at the center of the plaza and I thought to myself, “I don’t know about this?” But seeing the lines of occupied parking spaces outside made me think twice. Obviously, there was something going on and it wasn’t grocery shopping.

When my girlfriends and I parked our cars and began heading inside, we noticed a white Ferrari parked at the far end of the lot closer to the entrance. We made a bet among ourselves to find out who was driving that car. It was innocent girlfriend humor…I think.

That night there wasn’t a cover and the security guard at the door gave us a simple head nod as his approval. We walked straight in, which was a big plus for me. No wait, no hassle and free entry. This was turning out to be my kind of spot.

Once inside I took a minute to observe the scene. There was a sophisticated and sleek bar off to the left, a hard wood dance floor, and modern leather seaed table section to the right. Behind me was a private room and when I looked up I could see the DJ spinning, overlooking the crowd. It was early (11) and people were still coming in. This was great because it gave me the opportunity to get a feel for what the crowd was like.

Scenario.Tables

When I ran into another friend, I gained a little more insight about what to expect. “Tonight is Industry Night, so on Sunday’s it’s always popping. It’s early now, but give it an hour and the place is going to fill up.” When I took a closer look at the crowd. I could see what she meant about “Industry Night”

Remember the Outkast video, “So Fresh, So Clean?” Well that’s what came to mind as I looked around. I saw brothers dressed in fur coats, others with blazers and collared tops smoking cigars, occupying the bar and of course there were the gold necklaces and Jordans boys lining up in the back of the room. It was urban environment with what could have been a mix of producers, investors and hopeful hip-hop artists alike.

The women were definitely eye candy. Many of them could have been auditioning for any reality television show, video, etc. The long hair, the lashes, the 4 inch and higher platforms and spandex tights was definitely interesting to see. Although it was a bar and lounge setting, I advise all of my girlfriends to leave the “casual” wardrobe at home.

For me, the best part was the music. DJ Teknology was the deejay for the night and if you haven’t been to a venue while he’s spinning, you’re missing out. He’s got skills. He’s a definite crowd pleaser. Sunday night he combined classic mixes of south Florida, dirty south, reggae and Northeastern flavor that kept me bobbing my head all night. He’s the type of DJ who understands his crowd and although he aims to please he’s not afraid to introduce underground hits that don’t often get rotation in more mainstream venues. Teknology also spins on Atlanta’s V103.3. His Twitter handle is https://twitter.com/djteknology, just in case you interested in following him. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

Most late night venues shut down at 2 am, but from what I was seeing this crowd had a few more hours to spare. I ended up calling it an “early” night and headed home, but I had a good time.

So if Sunday is your thing, Scenarios could be a good fit. I don’t know when I’ll be back but it’s it’ll definitely be an option in the near future.

If you’re interested in knowing more about Scenario, visit their website at http://www.scenarioatl.com/ and don’t forget to follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/tiffanynpitts

Scenario.Dance

Have a great weeekend!

Tiffany

2 thoughts on “What’s the “Scenario?”

Leave a Reply

